Francesco Ionașcu


  • Medium

Francesco Ionașcu was born in a family of musicians on December 21, 1991 in Venice. He started studying the violin at the age of 6 at “Sigismund Toduţă” Music High School in Cluj-Napoca, in the class of Prof. Mariana Suma, then continued with Univ. Prof. PhD. Valeriu Maior from “G. Dima” Music Academy and with Robert Truţ, violinist at the “Transylvania” Philharmonic in Cluj-Napoca.

He graduated from Bachelor of Music (Honors) at the Royal College of Music in London, in the class of the teachers Natalia Lomeiko and Yuri Zhislin, with the distinction of “First Class”. He is also a graduate of the Masters Course at the “G. Dima” Music Academy from Cluj-Napoca in class of Univ. Prof. PhD. Nicușor Silaghi.
Currently, he is a PhD assistant at the “Gheorghe Dima” Music Academy in Cluj-Napoca.

Until the age of 26, he has performed over 100 concerts as a soloist, collaborating with prestigious orchestras from Romania and abroad: London Schubert Players, Bristol Metropolitan Orchestra, “George Enescu” Philharmonic Orchestra Bucharest, “Serghei Lunchevici” National Orchestra Chișinău, “Transilvania” State Philharmonic Orchestra of Cluj-Napoca and also the orchestras of the philharmonics in Sibiu, Oradea, Satu-Mare, Târgu Mureș, Bacău.

Among the conductors under whose baton he sang, we mention the following: Lawrence Foster, Vladimir Ashkenazy, Sir Roger Norrington, Franz Lamprecht, Cristian Mandeal, Sabin Pautza, Cristian Oroșanu, Horia Andreescu, Ilarion Ionescu-Galați or Tiberiu Soare.
He has also performed numerous concerts abroad: England, Germany, France, Italy, Spain, Hungary, in important locations: James’s Piccadilly (London), Tonhalle (Düsseldorf), Verdi Theater (Mantova), Romanian Athenaeum and Palace Hall (Bucharest).

He has won over 25 national and international competitions.
He attended master classes with prestigious violinists such as: Pinchas Zukerman, Ivry Gitlis, Maxim Vengerov, Shlomo Mintz. Since 2008, he is a SoNoRo scholar, starring alongside great artists: Daishin Kashimoto, Bernhard Naoki Hedenborg, Alexander Sitkovetski, Diana Ketler, Răzvan Popovici.